Press Releases

Today, in Helsinki, within the framework of the informal meeting of foreign affairs ministers of EU member states and candidate countries, the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of North Macedonia, Nikola Dimitrov and the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Cyprus, Nikos Christodoulides signed the Protocol on the establishment of diplomatic relations between the two countries.


With the establishment of diplomatic relations, opportunities are opened up for the development of the political dialogues across all levels and for the deepening of the economic, cultural and all other types of cooperation between the two countries.

FM Dimitrov: “With this act, we formalize the friendship with yet another ally in the family of European countries, with whom we will actively cooperate towards fulfilling the European agenda. Today we mark a new chapter in bilateral relations and we open the door to fruitful cooperation, friendship and prosperity.”